better is a dinner of herbs

where love is, than a fattened ox and hatred with it.”

-Proverbs 15:17

I heard that verse on Moody radio the other day and it’s stuck with me.

It’s Monday and I have taken my own advice, that I first heard from one of my best friends. Meal plan. It’s annoying, it’s not spontaneous, but it is literally 15-20mins of work on one day that lessens my stress all week long.

I don’t do anything fancy, just look in the fridge and freezer and write down a different meat that we’ll have each night of the week for dinner. Then I look through the cupboards to see what kind of dishes and sides I can make with those meats. Then I fill in breakfasts and packable lunched for hubby based on some of the left overs from those dinners. I’ll cook a real breakfast a couple times a week and wraps and sandwiches go a long way in this household. If there are things that I need to supplement the meals I’ll head to the grocery store, but I’ve been pretty good about following the “shop from your freezer” rule first. I think it’s saving us money, but who has time to calculate that?! I mean people do, but I’m not one of them at the moment.

…45 mins later…

my 4 mo old baby girl needed me and that seems to be about the maximum amount of time I have to focus on anything besides her. 45 mins. And when the day is broken up like that it is loooong and it’s also hard to get much done. That’s why meal planning on Monday allows me to focus on other things throughout the week. And speaking of time savers… thank you Lord for the invention of the crockpot.

It’s my go to. Since having our baby I use it every other day. I think I’m going to start giving them instead of cute outfits at baby showers because… life saver.

So I’m learning that meal planning and crockpots are great because they help me with the goal- saving money and time by cooking healthy meals at home. But even more important than that I’m reminded again of that verse,

“Better is a dinner of herbs where love is than a fattened ox and hatred with it.” -Proverbs 15:17

My attitude in all of this had better be one of love or it’s not even worth doing. And that is so convicting. I’m a first-time stay at home mom and this new job is the most demanding and most exhausting I’ve ever had. And I don’t always have a good attitude about it. I don’t always do my duties with love. Meet me Jesus at the kitchen sink because I can’t do this without you.

It’s impossible to be the perfect wife, mother, house keeper…So why do I care to try and save money and cook healthy meals and manage my time wisely?

Because God called me, in this season, to be a “worker at home” (Titus 2:5) and he called me to work as if I am serving Christ himself (Col. 3:23-24).

And that’s actually what I am doing when I feed my family, I’m serving Jesus. Wouldn’t I give the King of Kings a healthy meal with time and thought put in to it’s preparation all with a loving attitude? Of course. So Lord help me see this monotonous task of meal planning and cooking as a way to love and serve you. And give me the strength to do it well.

Have I mentioned that I HATE cooking? 

This is Jesus meeting me where I’m at. He’s showing me it’s not about me me me anymore. It never was. It’s ALL about Him and He’s given me the task of cooking and He’s already blessing me in the kitchen.

So I’d better get to it.

What’s for dinner: Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup from The Pioneer Woman

dsc_2999

 

Leave a Reply

